Saint Nevis Saint Nevis History

St. Kitts and Nevis are volcanic islands, making them one of the most active volcanic islands in the Caribbean. Although it has tropical weather and plenty of sun most years, it is also prone to hurricanes and is prone to hurricanes in the summer months.

In fact, the people of St Kitts and Nevis know they have to celebrate as much as possible. In Saintitts & Nevis it is a national holiday and it is celebrated with a parade, fireworks, music, dancing, food, entertainment and other activities. The land of Saint Kitts & Nevi is known for its musical celebrations, including the Carnival, which is celebrated on the first Sunday in August, from August 1 to the end of September. Music in St. Kitt's & Nevadais is also well known, as it hosts a number of music events, including concerts, dances, dance festivals, concerts and music festivals such as the Carnival.

At the beginning of the 20th century, St Kitts & Nevis was a British colony consisting of five presidencies.

In 1967, St. Kitts & Nevis & Anguilla became an internally self-governing member of the Commonwealth of Independent States and the United States of America (USA) and an associated member in the U.S. Virgin Islands. The government of the Wind Islands (Caribbean) was divided into two groups, and in 1967 the two islands of Saint Kitt and AngUilla, as well as the neighbouring island of St. Vincent & the Grenadines, were divided into 14 communities, each with its own government and - in - its chief. Nevi and its neighbouring islands of Saintitts, each with a population of about 2,000, are the largest and most populous of these islands.

The 5 parishes that are located on Nevis are: Saint Kitts, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Anguilla, Nevi, St. Vincent and St. Lucia and St. Kitt.

Other large settlements include Cayon and Sandy Point Town in St. Kitts and Gingerland and Charlestown in Nevis. Basseterre is the port that operates in tourism, and St. Vincent and the Grenadines is the largest port in the Caribbean.

The Federation of St. Kitts (correctly called St. Christopher) is located at 17o20 n / 62o49 W. The British settled in Stitts, the former St. Christopher, in 1623. Sugar beds for the king and the sugar industry in Nevis and the rest of the Caribbean. With slave labour, sugar and sugar cane plantations, both St Kitts and Nevis produce impressively good quality cane and rum.

St. Kitts and Nevis share a maritime border and are part of the U.S. Virgin Islands and the United States of America. French colonies in the Caribbean and colonized there, and Saintitts became an important base for British and French expansion.

On his second voyage in 1493 Christopher Columbus landed in St. Kitts and named the island after his patron saint Christopher. St. Martin's Day has been spotted, and the people who live on the Holy Tits are called Kittitian's. On his first trip to the Caribbean, he landed in St. Martin, the capital of the Dominican Republic, in 1489, but named it after him. The people who lived on it called them the Nevisians, while the Nevisians called them the Kittisers. In Christopher's small town, it is the second largest island in the Caribbean, after the islands of Hispaniola and Saint Lucia, both named after him.

In 1824, Great Britain placed the nearby island of Anguilla under the administrative control of St. Kitts and Nevis. Since December 19, 1980, the official name of the two St. Kitts & Nev Saint. Christopher, Nevi and Angus were placed under administrative control by Britain in 1824 as St-Kits / NevIS.

Anguilla, British Overseas Territory, broke away from its neighbours to establish itself as a British Overseas Territory. The Nevis voted against secession, as St. Kitts and Newtown was already the smallest country in the Western Hemisphere.

The state consists of the Federation of St. Kitts and Nevis, also called St. Christopher and Nevis. The country has about 2,000 inhabitants, including a small island called Booby Island, which has no inhabitants. Simmonds remained in office until 1995, when he was defeated by former premier of St Kitt's and Newtown, now Premier John Parnell.

St Kitts includes 65mi2 (168km2) and Nevis (35mi3) (93 km3), the latter dominated by a single dormant volcano, the Neves Peak, with a total area of 2.2 million square kilometers. Saint Kitt's covers 35 mi2 (168 km3) of the island of St. Christopher, the second largest island of the Federation, while Nevises covers 37 mi1 (93 km2), of which it is the third largest and largest.

Nevis is conical with a central volcanic peak and has been observed as a site of several volcanic eruptions over the last 2000 years, most recently in the late 19th century.

Christopher Columbus discovered the island on November 11, 1493 and renamed it St. Martin, as it did in its time, but renamed it after him. The Caribbeans originally called it liamuiga, which means "fertile island," and Columbus originally named the large island after his patron saint, Saint Christopher. British settlers shortened the name to St. Kitts in the early 17th century.

More About Saint Nevis

More About Saint Nevis